The National Emblem of India

The National Emblem of India is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Asoka as preserved in the Sarnath Museum. The Government adopted the emblem on 26th January 1950. In the original of Sarnath Capital, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculpture in high relief of an elephant, a gallping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels (chakras) over a bell-shaped lotus. Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the Capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra).
In he emblem adopted by the Government only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view. The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on the right and a horse on the left and the outlines of the other wheels on the extreme right and left. The bell-shaped lotus has been omitted. The words, Satyameva Jayate from Mundaka Upanishad meaning 'Truth alone triumphs', are inscribed below the abacus in Devangari script.

Back to the India Information Page

Go to my homepage...